Home / Faculty / Kiely named MSA Fellow

Kiely named MSA Fellow

Christopher J. Kiely has been named a Fellow of the Microscopy Society of America (MSA) for 2017. Kiely will officially be inducted with seven other recipients at the society’s 75th anniversary meeting in St. Louis, Missouri, in August.

The MSA Fellow designation annually recognizes senior distinguished members of the Society who have made significant contributions to the advancement of the field of microscopy and microanalysis through a combination of scientific achievement and service to the scientific community.

Kiely is recognized “for his distinguished contributions to the characterization of nanoscale features in particulate materials and interfaces, particularly in the areas of catalyst materials, nanoparticle self-assembly phenomena, carbonaceous materials, and semiconductor heterointerfaces.”

“The MSA prides itself on recognizing the many ways that different individuals contribute to the field, and the Class of 2017 Fellows is exemplary of this diversity,” said Ian M. Anderson, the society’s president. “They represent the gamut of the society’s mission: Scientists whose research activities have furthered our fundamental understanding of a variety of microscopy techniques and their application to diverse scientific studies, technologists who have overseen the practical implementation of these techniques, instrument manufacturers whose developments have opened new avenues for microscopy to impact scientific advancement, and educators whose books have informed and trained those entering the field.”

Kiely joins other distinguished Lehigh materials science professors to achieve MSA fellowship, including J. Alwyn Eades (2011), Joseph I. Goldstein (2010), Charles E. Lyman (2011), and David B. Williams (2010).

Kiely is the director of the world-renowned Lehigh Microscopy School, now in its 47th consecutive year, to be held in Whitaker Lab from June 4-9, 2017.


Source: MSA press release

Check Also

Jain awarded glass science lecture award

Himanshu Jain was awarded the 2017 Darshana and Arun Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Science Lecture …