Home / News / MAT 206 students receive IMS awards

MAT 206 students receive IMS awards

Materials students in MAT 206, Processing and Properties of Metals, received their awards for Class 3 of the 2016 International Metallographic Contest (IMC), a category they have won for the past three years.

The competition is sponsored by the International Metallographic Society (IMS).

“The students did great this year,” said Laura Moyer, who manages the metallography, light optical, microscopy, and x-ray diffraction labs and oversees poster design with the students. “Their hard work and effort really came through in their final posters and the awards were very well deserved!”

Graduate student research assistant Anthony Ventura advises the students along with Moyer. His dedication these last few years has proved instrumental in helping the students achieve the awards.

First place and the winners of the George L. Kehl Award were Amanda Ruschel and Daniel Weinstock for “Cooking with Clad.” Second place was Donny Stires and Conor Smith for “Untapped Potential.” Third place was Ally Fraser and Rachel Weckselblatt for “Chomping at the Bit!” An Honorable Mention was awarded to Michael Pires and Joshua Smeltzer for “How They’re Linked.”

The George L. Kehl Award recognizes outstanding achievement by an undergraduate student. First place winners share $1,000 and the George L. Kehl Plaque. Second place winners share $200, third place winners share $100, and a certificate of appreciation is awarded for Honorable Mention.

The IMC’s primary goal is to advance the science of microstructural analysis. There are five different classes of competition covering all fields of optical and electron microscopy. Through images and captions, the posters describe how microscopy was used to help characterize a material or process, or describe an unusual microscopy or metallographic technique. Class 3 represents all materials and is reserved for undergraduate students.

MAT 206 is a foundational course in materials science and is instructed by Wojtek Misiolek, the department chair. Misiolek is also directs Lehigh’s Loewy Institute and is the Loewy Chair in Materials Forming and Processing. “We have one more competition for these posters at a local ASM International Chapter,” said Misiolek, which is chaired by Moyer.  “So students have the chance to get good grades in the course and participate in two competitions — and everything can end up on their resumes.”

The next IMC will be held in October 2017 during the 50th annual IMS meeting at the MS&T conference in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Check Also

Jain awarded glass science lecture award

Himanshu Jain was awarded the 2017 Darshana and Arun Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Science Lecture …