Home / Faculty / Chan receives Fulbright award

Chan receives Fulbright award

Helen M. Chan, chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, was awarded a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program grant to teach in Austria in the 2016-2017 academic year.

“The grant is a Visiting Professorship at the Graz University of Technology, where I will teach and conduct research in the Austrian Centre for Electron Microscopy and Nanoanalysis,” says Chan.

Chan adds that two Lehigh colleagues in particular were very helpful to her during the application process. Bill Hunter assisted as the Director of International Outreach at Lehigh, along with Vince Munley, Professor of Economics, who was a Fulbright Scholar at the National University of Ireland in Galway.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the U.S. and those of other countries.

Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership in their fields.

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and many other disciplines. Fifty-three Fulbright alumni from 12 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 82 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes.

Prominent Fulbright alumni include: Muhammad Yunus, founder of Grameen Bank and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize recipient; Juan Manuel Santos, President of Colombia; John Hope Franklin, noted American historian and Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient; Riccardo Giacconi, physicist and 2002 Nobel Laureate; Amar Gopal Bose, founder of Bose Corporation; Renée Fleming, soprano; Jonathan Franzen, writer; and Daniel Libeskind, architect.


Check Also

Jain awarded glass science lecture award

Himanshu Jain was awarded the 2017 Darshana and Arun Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Science Lecture …