Home / News / New leadership in student materials society

New leadership in student materials society

Congratulations to the new Student Materials Society (SMS) executive board for 2016-17:

President: Conor Smith
Vice President: Rachel Weckselblatt
Secretary: Ally Fraser
Treasurer: Jay Chokshi

SMS is the Lehigh University student chapter of two professional societies: ASM International (ASM) and The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS). Membership provides students the ability to enhance their educational experience through networking with peers and professionals as well as opportunities for scholarships, awards, and society activities. The SMS is a student-run organization and open to all materials science students or those with an interest in the discipline.

At the department’s annual spring picnic, SMS gives the Gilbert E. Doan Award to a faculty member who has “best served them as a mentor in the civic, moral, and spiritual dimensions of their education.”

The SMS faculty advisor is Richard Vinci.

Check Also

Jain awarded glass science lecture award

Himanshu Jain was awarded the 2017 Darshana and Arun Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Science Lecture …