Recent Posts

Materials alum and entrepreneur establishes garage/salon


Patrice Banks ’02 is the proud owner of her own garage/salon. Story by Kathy Boccella, Staff Writer, At the moment, the only sound in Patrice Banks’ auto repair shop in Upper Darby is the click of her trademark strappy red heels across the floor. Soon, though, if her plan …

Read More »

Lehigh materials students sweep IMS Class 3 poster contest


Lehigh materials students have swept Class 3 of the 2016 International Metallographic Contest (IMC), a category they have won for the past three years. The competition is sponsored by the International Metallographic Society (IMS). Class 3 is a contest designation for all materials and is for undergraduate students only. First …

Read More »

Scratching the surface on coin-making


Using the most advanced techniques for analyzing the surfaces of materials, a team of researchers has shed light on the coin-making practices of the Roman Empire and the manner in which Roman coins have corroded over the past 2,000 years. The study by Lehigh chemical engineers and materials scientists demonstrated …

Read More »

Welding Consumable Metallurgical Engineer

Hobart Brothers Company, based in Troy, Ohio, is seeking a Welding Metallurgical Engineer with a passion for optimizing the product formulation and manufacturing processing of welding consumables used in modern industrial manufacturing and fabrication. Reporting to the R&D Director, this position is responsible for carrying out new production development projects …

Read More »

DuPont receives grant for materials joining research


John DuPont,  professor of Materials Science and Engineering, is the principal investigator in an NSF grant for continuing research in materials joining. Co-principal investigators and fellow colleagues in materials science are Richard Vinci and Masashi Watanabe, along with Herman Nied of the department of Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics. Lehigh works …

Read More »

Materials engineers in metals and ceramics

The Naval Air Systems Command located at Patuxent River, Maryland, is seeking materials engineers for its Metals & Ceramics branch. The Materials Engineering Division provides full life-cycle, research, development, acquisition, and in-service engineering of aerospace materials for Naval aviation products. The Materials Engineering Division provides engineering products and services for …

Read More »

Materials product managers needed

Nanoscience Instruments is expanding their applications team and is looking for Ph.D. graduates that have experience with specific instrumentation, particularly Nanoindentation and Atomic Force Microscopy. These positions will require frequent interaction with customers. A friendly and communicative personality is a must. Customers are in diverse areas of science, industry, academia, and government research …

Read More »

Misiolek, Jedlicka take on new roles as chair and associate chair


As of July 1, 2016, Wojciech Z. Misiolek, Loewy Professor of Materials Forming & Processing and Director of the Loewy Institute, has been appointed chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. He succeeds Helen Chan, New Jersey Zinc Professor and professor of Materials Science and Engineering. Sabrina Jedlicka, …

Read More »